The Way Kids Think

1 Jun

I’ve been tutoring this 7 year old (turning 8 in August) since 2 years ago, and I love the kid to bits. He’s an only child, slightly hyperactive (oxymoron?), a bit mischievous, and EXTREMELY smart and wily. As with most 7 year olds, he’s very curious about everything and asks me questions I can’t really answer all the time.

Why does the universe keep on expanding?

How many galaxies are there in the universe?

Why do we need nuclear plants?

Why did Hitler kill himself?

Why does the large intestine absorb water, but the kidneys pass out water…don’t they cancel out each other’s function then?

Okay, I could answer that last one, due to my medical background. But it took me half an hour to make it understandable in 7-year-old terms. Which brings me to another point…we’re reading a book about the human body, and stuff in there is SO hard! The book is targeted towards his age (7-12 ish), but I swear there’s stuff in there that’s undergraduate level. It talks about how bile is made, talks about the different digestive enzymes, distinguishes between the different types of white blood cells. And to think that what I was reading at his age were mostly The Babysitters’ Club books. Are we expecting too much from our kids?

Breadtalk: Apple Tart and Blackforest Roll

Breadtalk: Apple Tart and Blackforest Roll

Anyways, enough about too-smart kids. Let’s talk about something sweeter…

I have to admit I’ve never paid much attention to Breadtalk, as it always seemed like an overpriced version of Maxim’s. I guess we pay for the brand’s airfare from Singapore? Lol! But one day, while passing by the Ma On Shan branch, this Blackforest Roll enticed me. I was really craving something chocolatey and creamy, and the swiss rolls from local bakeries were either too small and without enough cream (Arome Bakery), or too local with dense cake and oily cream. Don’t get me wrong…I do enjoy the local kind of swiss roll every now and then, but I was really craving the more Japanese style, moist, sponge, whipped creamy roll.

This roll from Breadtalk certainly hit the spot. The cake was very moist and spongy with an acceptable chocolate taste, helped by the chocolate flakes on top. There was a LOT of chocolate cream inside, which tasted like…uh…chocolate whipped cream. Although not high quality milky whipped cream, it wasn’t the oily mouthfeel Chinese-style cream either. So yum. There were also generous pieces of marinated sweet cherries, which totally beats the jellies local bakeries used. I hoped for rum-soaked cherries, but for local standards, this was more than alright.

The apple tart was also from Breadtalk. I’ve been meaning to to try this for a long time, but always hesitated as it looked really light with a sponge cake base, and I might not like it. I got it this time thinking that in case I didn’t like it, I’d still have the roll. It turned out to be okay. As it turns out, there was a tart crust as well, albeit very thin and underbaked, being the same color as the spongecake. That’s why I never noticed it. The apples are still crunchy and a bit dried out; it was covered by a dusting of cinnamon. The spongecake was moist, but on the oily side. With reheating in the oven to crisp up the tart base, the tart wasn’t too bad. However, I don’t think I’ll be shelling out $8 for it again anytime soon….I’d rather go have a McDonald’s apple pie, or even pay a little more for a Pie & Tart apple pie which is a million times better.

A-1 Bakery: Chestnut and Green Tea Cake

A-1 Bakery: Chestnut and Green Tea Cake

A-1 Bakery is a local chain which churns out quite high quality Japanese-style breads at a premium price. Their cakes, on the other hand, are really good value for their size and quality. I got this piece of Chestnut and Green Tea cake at a discount ($17.5 instead of $20), and it’s quite hefty! Layers from top to bottom: green tea mousse, whipped cream, green tea sponge, chestnut puree and chestnut bits, chestnut sponge.

As I’ve said before, I really don’t like sponge cake. Usually, local bakeries make sponge cakes which are REALLY spongy as in they bounce back when you fork in, and they have a distinctive sweet eggy taste which tastes too plain to me. Also, more often than not, it tends to get dried out in the fridge. It’s also not very satisfying. This cake surprised me by being NOTHING like that. The sponge was extremely moist and tasted strongly of matcha, having the bitter edge as well. The chestnut puree was VERY generous in quantity. It didn’t feel like it was mixed with whipped cream either, as it was quite thick. However, it wasn’t too dense and pasty like the Angelina Mont Blanc. I’m still wondering if I got a bad one…cus that one was seriously almost inedible. There were lots of chestnut bits as well, which provided textural difference. On the whole, the cake is not too sweet (makes sense as a Japanese style cake); on the other hand, the generosity of the chestnut filling made the cake very satisfying. The only gripe I have is that the green tea mousse on top was too thin and tasteless; I guess it’s really just there for decoration.

School in a week…kinda excited!! Final year baby.

Leave a Reply

