Second to Last Day Sigh

28 Apr

Today, when I got to the hospital, I found out that most of the interns from other places had left Paris already! :(:( If I had known, I would’ve stayed longer yesterday. Also, I missed a house party one of the interns from Marseilles was throwing……and now they’ve all left. My favourite intern from Algeria was still here and leaving the same day as I was though, so that’s a consolation.

The box of 6 I got yesterday for myself

The box of 6 I got yesterday for myself

Since it’s my last 2 days in Paris, I’m staying at the hospital for the whole day until they finish. I also needed to scramble to get souvenirs for people back in Hong Kong and also gifts for those at the hospital. So today, after school, I headed to Berko first to get a dozen of cupcakes for the nurses at the clinic, and also a box of 3 for myself (in addition to the box of 6 I haven’t finished from yesterday lol). I’m gonna miss living 5 mins away on foot from a cupcake slash cheesecake store…………better for my waistline though.

Then I went on a massive shopping spree at Lafayette’s food market, and also various macarons stores like PH, Ladurée and Sadaharu Aoki around the Grand Magasins area. Also bought some cheese for my family as a souvenir. The cheese guy at Lafayette was so nice. But I also made a gaffe haha…I asked him if Tomme was similar to Swiss cheese, and he gave me the nastiest glare and said “NON!!! C’est FRANCAIS!!!! Pas suisse, nos fromages sont FRANCAIS!” Heh…sorry. Hurt his French pride. I sated him by buying some Tomme Affinée, Beaufort de Savoie, and Camembert. He also let me try a lot of cheese before buying…he gave me HUGE (like, 3X4 INCH) pieces to try. I was so full after trying lol.

Noix de Coco & mangue (buttercream); tarte aux fruit rouges

Noix de Coco & mangue (buttercream); tarte aux fruit rouges

This was my appetizer. Let’s just say tarts are not Berko’s forté…the tart base wasn’t buttery enough and I would’ve preferred more filling. Of course, it’s not fair to judge them based on a mini-tart I guess. The coconut and mango cupcake was yummerz!!! And I don’t even like coconut.

Takeout from Monoprix: tabouleh and satay chicken noodles

Takeout from Monoprix: tabouleh and satay chicken noodles

I also bought some takeaway from Monoprix as I like to experience what “instant food” is like in other countries as well.

Bulghur with mint...a bit dry

Bulghur with mint...a bit dry

Tabouleh is a Middle Eastern salad made of bulghur, parsley and mint. I think I like couscous a little better…..this seemed a little dry. The parsley and mint did make it refreshing though. It’s also very filling.

Satay chicken noodles: too coconutty!! :S

Satay chicken noodles: too coconutty!! :S

The satay chicken noodles, I got because I wanted to see a foreign take on an Asian dish lol. And as expected, the satay taste was very tamed down. It wasn’t spicy at ALL, and the coconut milk taste was very strong. As mentioned above, I don’t really like coconut…especially in savoury dishes…and the coconut also made the dish really milky. I couldn’t finish it. :S

Now on to my main course…

Dexter

Dexter

Dexter: Mascarpone Coeur de framboise

Dexter: Mascarpone Coeur de framboise

I had this yesterday. This is one of their gimmicky cupcakes with a little eyedropper bottle filled with raspberry purée. It’s cute though!! I guess they named it Dexter because of the bloody-likeness of the raspberry purée. The center was also filled with the purée, which made it slightly soggy. However, since the raspberries are tart, overall the whole cupcake was quite refreshing. Not something I’d crave though. Good if you’re looking for something not as sweet. But then again………usually those who don’t want something sweet wouldn’t be looking for cupcakes?

Coquelicot, poppy: buttercream

Coquelicot, poppy: buttercream

Coquelicot, poppy: buttercream

Coquelicot, poppy: buttercream

Intern forgot to fill the well?? Hahaha…this poppy cupcake is one of the brightest cupcakes in the display case with its bright salmon pink buttercream icing. I’ve never had poppy flavoured anything else in my life, so I don’t know how it’s supposed to taste. It was more sweet than anything else, with subtle hints of flora. Mostly sweetness though. The base was buttery and pound-cake like…so this cupcake was super rich.

Spéculos® (Buttercream)

Spéculos® (Buttercream)

Spéculos® (Buttercream)

Spéculos® (Buttercream)

My favourite!!!!!!!!! I’m gonna miss seeing speculoos-flavoured EVERYTHING when I get back to Hong Kong. The French really like their speculoos eh? The buttercream was wonderfully spicy and buttery flavoured. The well was filled with a dollop of speculoos spread, like the one I bought to have with my brioche 2 weeks ago (has it been that long? sigh). I’m now imagining a chocolate speculoos crossover……….OMG.

Framboise: cream cheese icing

Framboise: cream cheese icing

Framboise: cream cheese icing

Framboise: cream cheese icing

After the rich coquelicot and speculoos cupcakes, I had the framboise cream cheese cupcake to refresh my palate a little with its tartness (lol who am I kidding…cream cheese, refreshing?). This tasted like a raspberry cheesecake. I really like Berko’s cream cheese icing as its always so smooth and with the right balance of tartness and sweetness. I guess it’s because they’re a cheesecake expert. Damn I’m starting to regret not getting more of their cheesecakes…

Key lime cream cheese; Praliné Cœur de Nutella (buttercream)

Key lime cream cheese; Praliné Cœur de Nutella (buttercream)

Key lime cream cheese; Praliné Cœur de Nutella (buttercream)

Key lime cream cheese; Praliné Cœur de Nutella (buttercream)

Finally, the only 2  without a plain vanilla cake base. The keylime cream cheese I actually found not tart enough, and for some reason smaller than the others. The praliné nutella one though was SINFUL. I mean, you can’t really go wrong with nutella, hazelnut frosting, and chocolate cake, ALL IN ONE PASTRY, right? Well actually I would’ve preferred the frosting to be something less oily, maybe a mascarpone frosting, as the whole thing was a bit heavy. I guess the more oily (hence thinner) frosting helps balance the thick nutella dollop inside? Not complaining though….it was still very, very, very yum. I love my Nutella.

Sadaharu Aoki Macaron: guess what flavour?

Sadaharu Aoki Macaron: guess what flavour?

With a belly full of tabouleh, noodles, and cupcakes…………I ended my night with an interesting macaron from Sadaharu Aoki. It’s green, matcha-green in fact. But it had slightly savoury tones. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the WASABI MACARON. So, novelty of the flavour aside, how did it actually taste? In fact, it didn’t have that wasabi tang, but was only very mildly wasabi flavoured. It also wasn’t really sweet…so the whole macaron was sort of bland. The yuzu macaron I had, also from Sadaharu Aoki, on the way home was much, much better…this was worth trying just for the sake of trying though.

ONE MORE DAY.

Leave a Reply

