A Day Filled with Learning and History

27 Apr

Oh my god I can’t believe the hecticness of today managed to top yesterday! So morning was filled with OTs again, and I even got to see the OTs with local anaesthesia today. I left around 2 pm to head over to the Musée Dupuytren as planned. Also PK-ed at the university and twisted my ankle in front of 5 medical students…2 of which were pretty cute guys. Sigh…I’m a klutz. Oh well…saw LOTS of weird specimens at the museum! There were conjoint twins….stomach cancer…ovarian cancer….skeletons with rickets………it’s really a med student’s paradise haha. Photos prohibited though, so you’re just gonna have to visit yourself (if you’re not creeped out by these kinda things). What I liked the MOST  though was the office prior to the museum where the professors worked. It was filled with boxes of specimens and really, really, REALLY old books!! I regret not taking a picture.😦 It was really cool. Not something you’d find in HK universities, which are relatively new.

So after that nerdy

Eglise Saint-Germain-des-Près: the oldest church in Paris

Eglise Saint-Germain-des-Prés: the oldest church in Paris

I then took the metro to Saint-Germain-des-Prés to visit the church there, which is the oldest church in Paris I believe (dates back to the 6th century). I actually wanted to come yesterday after the Museum of the History of Medicine, but it was closed for a concert. I find it cool that many concerts in Paris are held in old churches! This church is very different from the other churches I’ve seen. The art is more simple, and there’s a lot of wood instead of stone or marble.

I had the pata de vedao

I had the pata de vedao

I was getting hungry so I headed over to my favourite Monoprix in Paris, the one across from the church. Why is it my favourite? Because they have the biggest bread and pastry selection……duh. My target today was something I’ve seen in my past few visits – something called a pata de vedao. The name sounds Portuguese, but I looked it up and couldn’t find anything about it on the Internet…:S anyone want to enlighten me? It looks like a sponge cake, and was very moist. I’ve never had tres leches cake, but this is what I would imagine it’d taste and feel like. It tasted like it was soaked in some sort of sweet milk, and the exterior was coated with coconut flakes. So I’m thinking they just made the name up…and it’s actually tres leches cake……….but I’ll have to try the real thing some time and compare. I then headed home, picking up half a dozen of Berko cupcakes and a cheesecake for tonight.

A little bit later, I headed out to the Centres Georges Pompidou again to finish where I left off 2 days ago, namely the pre-60s collection upstairs. I liked this part of the museum much more as I can appreciate this kind of art a lot more. To each his/her own I guess. Love Picasso and Matisse! Then……Louvre again. Yes, I went to the Louvre AGAIN. Lol…museum-heavy week.

The famous blue hippotamus in the Louvre

The famous blue hippotamus in the Louvre

Tonight the Louvre closed at 10 (Wednesdays and Fridays), so I hung out until it closed. The Louvre is even more enchanting at night. I’m totally in love.

The Louvre at dusk

The Louvre at dusk

ALWAYS look up in Paris as you'll find amazing sights!

ALWAYS look up in Paris as you'll find amazing sights!

Louvre at night...even more beautiful

Louvre at night...even more beautiful

One very rare, modern-looking hall

One very rare, modern-looking hall

When I left, there were these rollerbladers zooming across the road...party?

When I left, there were these rollerbladers zooming across the road...party?

I took the bus home after taking a bunch of pictures outside the glass pyramid. It’s really lovely at night there!! I’m really gonna miss the Louvre…:(

Hôtel de Ville at night...kinda creepy

Hôtel de Ville at night...kinda creepy

Some parts of Paris are really quite beautiful at night. And I’m just discovering this on my 3rd to last day in Paris!!!! Arghhhh :(:(:(

McDonald's touchscreen automatic kiosks

McDonald's touchscreen automatic kiosks

I passed by a McDonald’s and realized I have yet to try the McDonald’s here!! McDonald’s, you ask? Yes…you heard me right. I always try to visit the McDonald’s in a foreign country because they can be so interesting! I was intrigued by the macaroni breakfasts in HK when I first got there. Unfortunately that’s about as exotic as HK Mcdonald’s gets. To my surprise, the McDonald’s was TEEMING with people! I guess because not many other places are open that late in Paris. This one closes at 2 am I believe. Since the lineups were super long, I decided to head over to the automatic kiosks, which were touchscreen ordering stations. HK should so have this…it would speed things up!

Unfortunately, the machine didn’t accept my credit card (which is weird, as I’ve had no problem with my HK CC elsewhere in Paris). It doesn’t take cash either. So I had to line-up anyways.

Centres Georges Pompidou at night...

Centres Georges Pompidou at night...

On the way home from McDonald’s, snapped this lovely shot of the CGP at night. Honestly should’ve spent more time out at night during my last 3 weeks. Sigh. I feel like I missed out on a part of Parisian life.

Framboise-Grenouille Sundae + Le Charolais

Framboise-Grenouille Sundae + Le Charolais

The Framboise-Grenouille (raspberry-redcurrant) Sundae was a new offering and not available in HK. Honestly, all I tasted was the raspberry, and it was good, but not earth-shattering. For some reason, it tasted milkier than HK McD sundaes too. One thing good about this is that it was tart, which is more refreshing than the really sweet chocolate/strawberry flavours.

Not bad for a 1.95 euro burger...from Mcdonald's

Not bad for a 1.95 euro burger...from Mcdonald's

The burger was one of their value offerings. It was a small burger, the size of a regular hamburger. However, it was distinctly different. First of all, the bun resembled a ciabatta. The patty is purported to originate from a single type of cattle, Le Charolais (hence its name). There was a measly portion of julienned lettuce and some creamy sauce/mayo. I believe it was around the same price as the hamburger, which is pretty cheap. The rest of their burgers were 4-5 euros…:S for Mcdonald’s, that’s pretty pricy! So I think this is a good  choice if one were sick of hamburgers. I also like this type of bun more than a burger bun. If I were to have it next time though, I’d skip the mayo.

Berko: pecan cheesecake

Berko: pecan cheesecake

Dessert was the Berko stuff I got earlier before going to the CGP. The sundae was just my appetizer.😛 Berko has sooo many cheesecake flavours which are all so enticing, including raspberry white chocolate, peanut butter, oreo, fresh fruits, etc. I got the pecan because…well……….I normally don’t like pecan…so I got it to see if they could manage to make me like something I don’t like. Crazy, right? I actually SERIOUSLY debated between this and the peanut butter………..but pecan seems more special and harder to get in HK, so pecan it was.

And good it was! The cheesecake was soooooooooooo creamy. They advertise using real Philadelphia cream  cheese, but I’m sure that’s not the only reason it was so smooth. It was unreal…like eating fondant! It literally melted in my mouth. New York style cheesecake can be a bit too dry and crumbly sometimes, but this was NOT anywhere near those adjectives. The taste was like a cross between white chocolate and cream cheese. In fact, I think they do add white chocolate in it? Because it really felt like eating chocolate fondant.

The base was made of speculoos I think, as most French crumb bases are, and I loved the cinnamony notes. I skipped the 2 pecan bits on top😛 I told you I didn’t like pecans. There were pecany-caramelly swirls within the cheesecake, which I didn’t mind as there were no nutty chunks. Ahhhhhhhhhh I shouldn’t have polished this off so fast….it was SO YUM. And it wasn’t too big either, like how Main Street Deli’s can be.

As for the cupcakes, I only had half tonight…I’m gonna leave that review in a separate entry so I can do all the cupcakes at once. OK I’m seriously craving more Berko cheesecake😦

One Response to “A Day Filled with Learning and History”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ARTHK 11 « Rachelle's Ramblings - May 26, 2011

    […] taste is creamy and slightly sweet, but not sweet like chocolate sweet. This is in contrast to the Berko cheesecake I had. I actually prefer a slightly sweeter cheesecake, or at least accompanied by something sweet […]

Leave a Reply

