Hectic Tuesday

26 Apr

This morning, I spent the morning scrubbed in with Dr. Pulvermacker in the OT. As I caught a cold, I wasn’t feeling very well and left early….

Really small

Really small

Headed to the Musee de l’Histoire de la Medécine at the 2nd floor of the Faculty of Medicine in the université de Paris V René Descartes. It was really small, occupying just one room. Interesting…but not TOO interesting. Gonna go to Musée Dupuytren tomorrow, which holds a lot of wacky medical specimens. Should be more interesting!

Un Dimanche à Paris

Un Dimanche à Paris

Being a bit hungry, I headed across the street to Un Dimanche à Paris to get one of their mini trio sets. I wish I bought more of their stuff, as everything was really good! The mini lemon tart was….very tart! But had a sweet lingering citrusy note….the tart base was very crispy. The eclair was OK. I’m beginning to think I don’t really like eclairs lol because I’ve had 2 just OK eclairs these 2 days from 2 great patisseries, so maybe it’s just me. Finally, the mini chocolate fondant was verrrrrryyy melt-in-your-mouth. I wish I had a giant version of this.

Then, I headed to Montparnasse to look for Des Gateaux et Du Pain….i kept on walking in the wrong direction till i got there 1 hour later😦 with very sore feet. And………….found out it was closed.😦 Argh!!!! I really wanted to try the Pomme Tatin. Don’t think I’ll have time to come all the way out there in the next few days either. Oh well…next time.

So i went back to the Les Halles area as I wanted to go to the kookai outlet which closes at 7:30. I got there at 7:00 pm, and they didn’t let me in anymore. BOO. To heal my disappointment, went into Monoprix to get a Petit Pain aux Raisin Poilane (which tasted not very special either). Then I went to Rue Montorgueil…wanted to run into cute salesguy at Kayser. He wasn’t there, so I left (JUST KIDDING…I wanted a ficelle and they were out). Ok. Maybe NOT so kidding haha….nonetheless, I headed to Stohrer instead to do the same thing (KIDDING…although the salesguys at Stohrer ARE incredibly cute). Actually, I wanted to get their tarte aux fraises bois, but they were out ALSO😦 It’s only 7 pm! So I got some chocolate thing called a Marie something…which was dark chocolate wrapped around praline with half a cherry glacé on top and half on the middle. It was…kind…tasteless. I threw it away after 2 bites.

Sooo cute! From à La Mère de la Famille

Sooo cute! From à La Mère de la Famille

Then, I headed to La Mère de Famille just cus it looked so enticing…got a Praline Feuilleté (which was yum) and a Florentine (which was soggy). And also a marzipan egg…which looked so real, but was unfortunately tasteless also. Then, I wanted to go to LeGay Choc to get my ficelle, BUT THEY WERE CLOSED TOO. Hmph. EVERYTHING is closed on Tuesdays. Beatrix is closed too…I think they’re doing renovations or something :S.

Pain de Mais from Huré

Pain de Mais from Huré

So I went over to Huré, got a chunk of pain au mais. Pas mal…had corn bits and pine nuts in it, and was VERY SUPER moist. I loved the innards (super moist) and crunchy crust. One bad thing is that I couldn’t really taste the corn. By the way, this isn’t like traditional Southern US cornbread at all. It was more like a moist pain au campagne. Big bread is gooooooood. It was only 1.20 too, for a HUGE chunk. Makes HK Japanese bread shops look super expensive.

Apple crumble from random takeout shop

Apple crumble from random takeout shop

Finally, wandered around to find a place still open with desserts I wanted (Huré didn’t have anything I wanted…and Pain de Sucre is, yes you guessed it, CLOSED ON TUESDAYS TOO). So off I went in the direction of Rue de Rivoli, came across a random takeaway store, got an apple crumble tart.

Passionata from Boulangerie Julien

Passionata from Boulangerie Julien

Just in case I didn’t like it, I headed over to Boulangerie Julien too to try my luck – OMG THEY’RE OPEN. They only had a limited selection left though, and I choose something fruity as I didn’t want something creamy. The Passionata looked fruity and sounded fruity. I was assuming it’d be Passion Fruit tasting…but for some reason the mousse tasted like banana instead. Not that it’s bad. The raspberry gelée, while not Ladurée quality, was refreshing, not sweet, and complemented the mousse well. The bad part was the sponge around the cake – dry and tasteless. I didn’t eat it.

The crumble, on the other hand, was surprisingly good. Well, crumble’s hard to go wrong with right…the apples were barely baked, so they were crunchy and sweet with hints of cinnamon. The crumble topping was very buttery. Well, the tart base was kind of bad…but I just skipped it.

OMG only 3 days left in Paris!!  :(:(:(

Leave a Reply

