I’m Not Contemporary Enough

25 Apr

Last day of my Easter long weekend, and a busy day like the rest of my weekend! Woke up bright and early and headed to the first stop of today’s itinerary……..Eglise Saint-Eustache. Unfortunately, it was closed. Since it’s right next to Rue Montorgueil, I headed over there for some breakfast.

Stohrer's pastry case...well, half of it

Stohrer's pastry case...well, half of it

Stohrer again! This time my target was one of their éclairs…they’ve been voted as one of the best in Paris. I got a vanilla éclair as those aren’t very common. Let’s just say I’ve had better….the choux pastry was tasteless, dry, and the creme was kind of tasteless and too sweet too. I think my neighbourhood bakery makes better éclairs.

Pasteis, which wasn't very good...even KFC's is better

Pasteis, which wasn't very good...even KFC's is better

I also had a pasteis (de nata), which wasn’t very good either, much like the one I had at the Bastille market. I guess I shouldn’t complain as it’s my own fault for having a Portuguese pastry in a French shop?

So my next plan was to head over to the University area to check out the sights there. On the way, I passed by Saint-Chapelle, and noticed that the lineup was REALLY SHORT! Like 10 people short. It’s usually at least 3 times the length. I then decided not to miss this opportunity and lined up. I’m glad I did so, as the church was so beautiful.

The beautiful stained glass windows of Eglise Saint-Chapelle

The beautiful stained glass windows of Eglise Saint-Chapelle

I literally stood in the middle of the hall for a few minutes just to take in the beauty of it all. This was one of the smaller churches I’ve been to, as it’s mainly just for pilgrimage, holding the relics of the Passion, including the purported Crown of Thorns of Christ. Apparently, King Louis IX paid more for the relics than building the church! After being awestruck by the church, I headed next door to the Conciergerie, which was the Medieval royal palace of France. Later, it became a prison during the Revolution. I got to see the cell where Marie Antoinette was kept.

Then, finally, headed to my prior planned destination.

Took a look at the universities and the areas around it. Then I went to the Musée Cluny, which is actually the Museum of the Middle Age. The lady at the ticket counter was very nice and let me go in for free, even though supposedly only under-26s from the EU could do that! =D The entire building is very cool….built in the 14th century!! :O It used to be the town house of the abbots of Cluny. The entire structure was also built on the ruins of Gallo-Roman baths dating from the 3rd century!!!!!! Mind-boggling.

Creepy...

Creepy...

The exhibitions were really cool too, showing various aspects of life in the Middle Ages. It’s incredible how much survived, considering the Middle Ages were REALLY LONG ago!

Tea-time break

Tea-time break

Oh nearly forgot. Before my Musée Cluny visit, I headed over to the daily’monop across the street for a snack. This is a semolina pudding, which I’ve never had before. I like it more than a rice pudding, because the semolina provided a thicker texture but didn’t require chewing!

After spending a few hours in the museum, I walked over to the Latin Quarter as there was a church around there I wanted to visit too….but it was closed (again :(). I did see some other interesting things though…

CANADIAN PRIDE, EH?

CANADIAN PRIDE, EH?

Cute street musicians in the Latin Quarter

Cute street musicians in the Latin Quarter

After hanging out there for a while, it was still early in the afternoon, so I decided to visit the Centres Georges Pompidou (finally)! The good thing about this museum is that it closes at 9, one of the later ones in Paris. It’s the museum of modern art……although I kind of question the definition of “art” based on what I saw in there…

Art

Art

Not art...

Not art...

I only had time to look at the post-60s art this time…so a return visit is planned.

Next stop was driven by hunger to Rue Montorgueil for the 2nd time today.

Dinner: pain d'epices, and 4 goat cheese rounds

Dinner: pain d'epices, and 4 goat cheese rounds

Bought a huge chunk of pain d’epices, which was more expensive than I expected :S that was more than 4 euros. Oh well. The guy selling pain d’epices on Rue Montorgueil is a bearded old man who plays chess with passerbys (he has a chessboard on his table). I should’ve taken a photo….he just sets up his table in the middle of the street and sells his pain d’epices by weight while playing chess when there are no customers. It’s so idyllic. While I was buying this, he was in the middle of a game with a well dressed, blonde, pretty woman! Usually I see him playing with old scruffy men haha.

The cheeses were just from the supermarket because all the fromageries were closed😦 These were the cheese I tried:

Crottin de Chavignol: has a mild yellowy rind which looks like a brain LOL…it also smells like…umm…excrement. The texture was very crumbly, and the colour was very white inside. It was kinda chalky and even springy. I didn’t quite like the taste as I thought it was a bit tart in a chalky way.

Chèvre cendré du Berry: This had a very strong goat’s milk taste and a melty interior similar to Brie. The gray rind, covered in cinder, is soft. It had a woody taste, like a goaty brie. I really liked this!

Chèvre de Dordogne: This was the tallest palet, but slightly smaller in diameter. The rind was almost non-existent. The texture is the hardest of all, but still smooth (not chalky). It had a bit of tangy, sour taste tangy, but not like the Crottin. The exterior is yellow, with a chalky white interior. I decided to heat it up a bit and it was even better heated!

Cabécou du Périgord: This one smelled really bad too. It had a white, soft rind, and a very creamy/buttery, mild yellow interior. The taste was nutty and mild. It was very milky (goat milk) with hints of mushroom. Some parts were chalky white. I would say it was like eating goat cheese butter.

As for the pain d’epices, It went well with the goat cheese. I was expecting it to be more cakey, but this was really like bread, which is why it’s called “pain” I guess! The spice taste was also mild. I wouldn’t crave this on its own.

Mmm……..so full!

Leave a Reply

