T minus One Week

23 Apr

Super sad that one more week and I’m gone. I tried waking up early this morning to do more exploring,  but ended up waking up at 10 am again…I wanted to do a little shopping, and ended up at Lafayette. Naturally, breakfast is in order, and I had a Kugelhopf from Dalloyau. No photo taken but it was quite good! I’d prefer a croissant aux amandes though….I’m getting addicted to those things.

Next stop was going across the street to the Opera. Last time I went, they were having rehearsals so I couldn’t get into the auditorium, so this time that was my goal!

The Opera Garnier Auditorium...wish I could've had a chance to watch a performance here!

The Opera Garnier Auditorium...wish I could've had a chance to watch a performance here!

Gorgeous and breathtaking to imagine all the important people who mingled in high society in that opera house.

I then headed to Concorde to visit the Museum d’Orangerie, where Monet’s waterlilies are kept. But I forgot to take photos!😦 The 2 rooms where the paintings are kept have a wonderful ambience. They’re both circular, with filtered skylights, and soothing music playing. I’m sure Monet would have been proud.

Next stop was Angelina across the road from the Jardin des Tuileries (where the Musee d’Orangerie is located). Can’t believe I didn’t get a picture of the Tuileries either, as the garden is amazingly beautiful. I am soooo bringing my DSLR next time I come to Paris! As I was on a tight schedule, I just got their 2 famous items to go: a hot chocolate (for now), and a Mont Blanc (for tonight).

Mont Blanc Army

Mont Blanc Army

My hot chocolate to go!

My hot chocolate to go!

The hot chocolate disappointed me though. Yes, it was super thick, but I thought it could’ve been more chocolatey or even milkier. The only impression I got was – thick. Then again, I’m not a HUGEEEE goopy hot chocolate fan…I prefer my chocolate in edible form. After dropping off the Mont Blanc at my apartment, I rushed out again to the Cité de la Musique to explore their museum…I wish I had more time to do this, as I didn’t get through all the rooms before they closed!😦 Next time…

After 6 pm, all the touristy sites are closed…so off to do some OTHER exploring. I.e. SHOPPING! I took the metro to the 6th arrondissement and did a little shopping. I wish we had something like eram in Hong Kong…I really love that store – they cover a variety of styles. However, now that A&F and Hollister are coming, I guess I won’t complain.😉 Along the way, I of course had some snacks too.

Masmoudi, a store for Tunisian sweets

Masmoudi, a store for Tunisian sweets

I think I prefer French sweets...

I think I prefer French sweets...

First I dropped into Masmoudi for some North African sweets. Actually, I didn’t really like them…they were really nut heavy and even a bit savoury. The only thing I liked was one really crumbly biscuit made of chickpeas.

Maoz in the Latin Quarter for Falafels

Maoz in the Latin Quarter for Falafels

Self-serve salad bar makes this THE best place for falafel to me :)

Self-serve salad bar makes this THE best place for falafel to me🙂

Next I headed into the busy Latin Quarter for some falafel. You can’t say you’ve been to Paris without having falafel…my target was not L’As du Falafel as recommended all over the web though, but Maoz, a tiny store in the Latin Quarter with a SELF-SERVE salad bar! I waited patiently as they ran my pita through a warming machine…and slapped a couple of falafels and some lettuce inside. I then piled on the toppings, including mint, coleslaw, vinegared carrots, some sort of tomato salad…and more

YUM YUM...everything was piping hot (except the condiments)

YUM YUM...everything was piping hot (except the condiments)

AND it was amazingly good! The whole thing was very hot surprisingly, as pretty much everything was made in advance. Maybe because turnover is so high. Also, the falafels were just the right size, not the gigantic things we get in Vancouver. It was also very tender and just YUMMY! What makes this even better is that it was just 4 euros for a small size (which filled me up). What a good deal in Paris!

The son of Michel Cluizel opened this chocolate concept store which is GODLY

The son of Michel Cluizel opened this chocolate concept store which is GODLY

Every meal should be balanced, so my savoury treat needed to be balanced by some sweets of course. That brings me to Un Dimanche à Paris, a chocolate boutique + chocolate restaurant (yes, a CHOCOLATE restaurant) near the Odéon station. Ohhhhhhhhh myyyyyy goddddddd I’m so sad I only found this place during my last week! They have a menu complete with chocolate treats and desserts, kind of like Riquiqui. NEXT TIME I come to Paris. (I’m already making a list!)

Refreshing Melon macarons

Refreshing Melon macarons

And chocolates of course too...I'm in a chocolate store after all

And chocolates of course too...I'm in a chocolate store after all

Unfortunately I was a bit full from falafel…so I only got a Melon macaron and 2 chocolates. One was a caramel au beurre salé, which was freaking amazing. I should’ve gotten more. The other had some sort of spices, which wasn’t really apparent. Still really good quality chocolate though, which was SUPER smooth and satisfying.  The melon macaron is a flavour which I think should be brought over to Hong Kong. It smelled intensely of canteloupe, tasted intensely of canteloupe, and even LOOKED pretty. The texture reminds me of…hmm…Paul Lafayet macarons. With a very crisp exterior and a just-enough filling. Super refreshing flavour perfect for hot weather. Again, should’ve gotten more…

Finally, I headed home…

More Minis from Starbucks: Fraise cake-pop, Marshmallow cake-pop, Framboise Chocolat-Blanc Gateau

More Minis from Starbucks: Fraise cake-pop, Marshmallow cake-pop, Framboise Chocolat-Blanc Gateau

On the way I don’t know why but I was craving Starbucks, so I dropped in and got some Minis too. Nothing special. In fact, I think the Strawberry Cake-pop we had in Hong Kong was even better, with strawberry bits inside and a moister texture.

No frills box from Angelina

No frills box from Angelina

Excellent milky whipped cream, but the chestnut was SO chewy and bland! :(

Excellent milky whipped cream, but the chestnut was SO chewy and bland!😦

Finally, I had the Mont Blanc just now. I regret to say that it was nothing worth mentioning as well…sad that both things I’ve had from Angelina has disappointed me.😦 Tourist hype? The Mont Blanc’s greatness basically got worse as you ascended the cake. The base was a meringue, which was light, sweet, and great with the fluffy and milky whipped cream. The chestnut strands was what ruined it all. Tough, chewy, and cloying, it also didn’t really taste like chestnuts. And I’ve already let it out in room temperature for a bit, so it wasn’t a problem of refrigeration! Or perhaps this is what French Mont Blancs are really like? :S Have I been spoiled by Japanese Mont Blancs? Perhaps I’ll get one from a neighbourhood bakery to compare…

One Response to “T minus One Week”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Way Kids Think « Rachelle's Ramblings - June 1, 2011

    […] whipped cream either, as it was quite thick. However, it wasn’t too dense and pasty like the Angelina Mont Blanc. I’m still wondering if I got a bad one…cus that one was seriously almost inedible. […]

Leave a Reply

