All the Big Names

21 Apr

This week’s been boring at school. For some reason, most of the surgeries have been facial surgeries like lifting, eyelid surgeries, cancer excision. That means that if I scrub up, I’ll be pretty useless standing there…and probably being in the way as well. I miss last week, especially Thursday when I got to actually scrub up and help with the surgery. There was an abdominoplasty where it was just me, an intern, and an extern in the OT. I handed them instruments, did diathermy, handled all the equipment. The first time I actually felt useful in the OT. Hopefully next week (my last! :() will be more fruitful. Left early today to go to the Louvre…

Afterwards, I did another patisserie march. First stop was Carl Marletti again. Remember last time I had an AWESOME Belle Helene? This time was pretty awesome too.

Carl Marletti storefront

Carl Marletti storefront

Carl Marletti: inside the store

Carl Marletti: inside the store

This time I managed to get shots of the exterior and interior. Like I said, it’s very low-key and you’d miss it if you weren’t looking. It’s across the famous Saint Medard church and right next to a bright, shiny, Greek traiteur. Inconspicuous, but its pastries are not.

My haul...all the pretty bags

My haul...all the pretty bags

I then headed to the Grands Magasins to get some big name pastries. I had planned to get a Tarte Tatin from Laduree at Printemps, then an Opera at Dalloyau. Unfortunately, Laduree was out of Tarte Tatins, and I settled for something at Cafe Pouchkine, which is a Russian royal pastry cafe with a pop-up store at Printemps. By the way, Grands Magasins is paradise…shopping AND food paradise. I guess it’s a good thing I don’t live in Paris…or else I’d go bankrupt in a few months (or weeks)? SO first, an amuse-bouche…

Cafe Pouchkine's Macarons

Cafe Pouchkines Macarons

So first, an amuse-bouche. Cafe Pouchkine’s macarons are known for having 2 flavours in one macaron, then having an inverse. Their macarons are the most expensive I’ve seen in Paris though…1.8 euros each. Even Laduree’s are only 1.65 euros. They are a bit bigger than most though, so I guess it’s worth it.

Caramel + Citron; Citron + Caramel

Caramel + Citron; Citron + Caramel

Caramel + Citron; Citron + Caramel innards

Caramel + Citron; Citron + Caramel innards

Pretty, eh? What about the taste? The citron + caramel macaron, for some reason, had a very bland exterior. Although very yellow, it didn’t taste like citron at all. The filling was caramel, and it was not as good as Laduree’s. I didn’t like this one at all, considering the price. The other one however was tasty. The citron part in the middle had a stronger lemon flavour than the predominantly citron one (which is weird). The caramel outer ring tasted almost chocolatey and complemented the citron well. The filling was vanilla, and could’ve been stronger. Pouchkine seems to be weak in their fillings.

I love the box!! It's soooo Russian

I love the box!! Its soooo Russian

So fancy

So fancy

Next up is the Moskito. I have to mention something about the box though. It’s black and decorated in gold, setting it apart from the clean, simple designs Parisian patisseries tend to utilize. This makes it very Russian and Eastern European…I like it! They don’t over-do the gold, so it’s looks fancy instead of too gilded. They don’t allow photos inside the store, so I’m going to have to return a few times to showcase their pastries! Ahhh not much time left😦

Moskito from Cafe Pouchkine

Moskito from Cafe Pouchkine

Biscuit moelleux pistache, crème onctueuse vanille Bourbon, pâte d’amandes et pistache

Biscuit moelleux pistache, crème onctueuse vanille Bourbon, pâte d’amandes et pistache

This looks like a swiss roll, but is so much more complicated. And very different. The roule is a layer of biscuit, followed by a layer of vanilla creme and pate of nuts, then repeat. The biscuit was kinda like the soft part of a croissant aux amandes. Soft, moist, and eggy. The creme had vanilla seeds in it, but wasn’t very vanilla-ey…the main focus of this cake is on the pate d’amandes et pistache, which was very strong in taste. However, I found it heavier on the almond taste rather than pistachio; it tasted like really smooth and yummy marzipan. The only thing I don’t like is the very sticky glaze on the outside, which stuck to the fork, the box, my fingers…haha. The pastry is very pretty and befitting for royalty – there were flecks of gold flakes and sugar mounds. The chocolate on top was also extremely dark chocolate, so even the garnish was yummy and pretty.

Carl Marletti Marie Antoinette

Carl Marletti Marie Antoinette

Perfect raspberries, yummy rose cream

Perfect raspberries, yummy rose cream

With raspberry confit on the bottom

With raspberry confit on the bottom

Next up, the Carl Marletti Marie Antoinette. Looks pretty, eh? Tastes even better. Now, you may think it’s just an Ispahan, but WAIT. There’s something different. 2 perfectly chewy macaron biscuits sandwiching a dollop of rose cream, fresh raspberries, and…not lychee, but raspberry confit. Superb!! The top macaron had violette sugary bits, which added another flowery dimension to the pastry. Many times rose flavoured stuff tends to taste like soap (especially since my dad has used rose-scented soap since forever and anything rose reminds me of him…TMI? heh). The rose cream in this was sooooooo damn smooth though and had hints of vanilla, while still obviously tasting of rose. The raspberry confit was like a home made raspberry jam, a little tart, and went well with the rose cream to balance the richness out. Finally, the raspberries were fresh and sweet. Put a little bit of each on your fork and chew, and you’ll feel like you’re in heaven. Carl Marletti is GOD.

Dalloyau Opera

Dalloyau Opera

Chocolate, coffee cream, chocolate cake, chocolate ganache, coffee cream, chocolate cake

Chocolate, coffee cream, chocolate cake, chocolate ganache, coffee cream, chocolate cake

Finally, to end, Dalloyau’s Opéra. It was the last one in the Lafayette store when I got there at 7:30. By the way, Lafayette’s food department is also paradise. SO MANY FOODIE PARADISE SPOTS IN PARIS. This is kind of an anti-climax after the Marie Antoinette. A good, solid Opéra, but nothing WOW about it. Small, too. Like HK patisserie-sized har har. Guess it’s worth having an Opéra from its inventor though.

Wow…I had many cakes today. :S My pants are already starting to feel really, really tight…one more week till I’m back in HK and I swear I’m going to run every day.

2 Responses to “All the Big Names”

  1. parisbreakfast April 21, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Loving your pastry adventure!
    Very brave indeed to eat all those at one go.
    I loved the look of everything at Pouchkine but only had breakfast there…
    More please before you go back to HK.
    merci carolg

    • Rachelle April 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      What can I say….I’m obsessed with Parisian pastries😉 Will have to live in Paris through your posts in a week’s time!

Leave a Reply

