A Royal Visit

17 Apr

I woke up early this morning to go to Versailles. Took the bus to Saint Michel-Notre Dame RER station, and boarded the RER C to Versailles Rive Gauche. Unfortunately, I didn’t notice that the line splits after Champ de Mars, and I stayed till the last stop on the other line. The driver of the train, when he found out I wanted to go to Versailles, was like “oh….c’est très loin, très très loin….” and shaking his head. I had to go back all the way from Pontoise to Champ de Mars, then back to Versailles. Haha…instead of taking half an hour to get to Versailles, it took me 3 hours. Whoops. Fortunately, on the way back, I had a really cute kid (he looked around 5?) who got on the train at Pontoise sitting next to me. He kept on chatting to me in French, and I answered him in very bad pronunciation which he obviously didn’t understand, but he kept on talking to me anyways. Then, he refused to sit with his dad and wanted to sit next to me, and on the way he kept on pointing things out the window. And we played with his toy cars. There was one point where he kept on saying “qu’est-ce que c’est?” while handing me one of his cars, and I’d answer “C’est une voiture!” everytime. Then I did the same back to him. His dad was laughing…oh I love kids. He also had a little brother (looked around 3 years old) who repeated practically EVERYTHING his older brother was saying…word for word.

LeGay Choc

LeGay Choc

Well, back to what food I had that day. Breakfast was a croissant aux amandes from LeGay Choc (gotta love that name…pronounced as: Le Gay Shock). Apparently they also sell dick shaped baguettes on Saturday afternoons. Gotta check it out next week.

Giant Croissant aux Amandes

Giant Croissant aux Amandes

Actually, I bought a croissant aux amandes from Beatrix downstairs, but had to throw it away because it was really bad and I didn’t want to waste my calories. It was tough, but had a good filling. Maybe I just got a bad one. The one from Legay Choc was choc-ingly good (sorry…I had to heh). It was super crispy and buttery, kind of in a millefeuille kind of way. Never had a croissant aux amandes this crispy though. There was minimal frangipane inside which made it dry and very crispy…it’s a very unique style. The layers were still very pronounced, not like a melting mass like the croissant aux amandes I’ve had before.

RER to Versailles

RER to Versailles

Saint-Michel Notre Dame station

Saint-Michel Notre Dame station

Whoops...not supposed to see all this beautiful countryside

Whoops...not supposed to see all this beautiful countryside

Famous Hall of Mirrors

Famous Hall of Mirrors

By the time I got to Versailles, it was around 1 pm. The line was also SUPER long JUST to get in. I already got my tickets online, and still had to line-up for around 40 mins just to get in. It was well worth the wait though, as Versailles is amazingly beautiful, along with the Grand and Petit Trianon and gardens. Imagining living there just kills the mind. Unfortunately, because of my stupidity and my delay, I didn’t have time to enjoy Angelina’s in the beautiful scenery of Versailles.

A boulangerie which won the Label Rouge for their baguettes

A boulangerie which won the Label Rouge for their baguettes

I got back in the evening and wandered around for something to eat in the Marais area. I stumbled upon this bakery, Miss Manon, which is famous for their baguettes apparently. Actually I was going to live around this area, but I found my current apartment instead, which was newer and had nicer decor.

Petit Baguette, Petit Pain Complet, Awesome butter again

Petit Baguette, Petit Pain Complet, Awesome butter again

I also headed to the deli nearby my home to get more of that awesome butter I had last time. This time I bought a doux (sweet) one instead of the seaweed flecked one, just to try something different. It tasted like fresh cream…SO YUM. The petit baguette from Miss Manon was just OK. It was kind of tasteless and the crust was crispy instead of crunchy. I also didn’t like the sesame. It tasted like it had eggwash too…I prefer the Kayser Monge much more. The whole-wheat buns were much better. I also got 2 for the price of 1 as the cashier winked at me and told me to shhh about it. French bakeries are sooo cute hehe. The bun was flavourful and just the right size, a mini triangular bun. Very dense.

Pistachio Tiramisu

Pistachio Tiramisu

At the deli, I also got a pistachio tiramisu just for the sake of curiosity. No pistachio taste at all…not even gonna bother writing about it. Remind me to get things from PATISSERIES, not ready made things from deli-supermarkets please?

Back to school again tomorrow…zzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

