THE Sadaharu Aoki

15 Apr
35 rue de vaugirard 75006 Paris

35 rue de vaugirard 75006 Paris

I had to go to fnac to pick up tickets for my trip to Versailles on Sunday. I decided to go to a fnac in the 6th just so I could drop by Patisserie Sadaharu Aoki. Aoki is probably the only Asian patissier who is famous worldwide. I don’t know why he hasn’t decided to open a store in Hong Kong yet.😩 We are soooo deprived in HK.
Shop interior...smallest patisserie I've seen in Paris

Shop interior...smallest patisserie Ive seen in Paris

I bought 2 pastries…to be revealed later.😉 The salesgirl working at the counter spoke only Japanese! :O The cashier (who was also Japanese) did speak French though. I think it’s a nice move by Aoki to hire Japanese🙂

School until 6 pm today as the last case was late by half an hour x_x Thankfully one of the nurses made crepes, so I snuck into the pantry now and then to munch on some crepes! I saw some speculoos spread in the pantry that morning, but unfortunately by the time I snuck into the pantry, the spread was all gone. 
Brioche Ă  tĂȘte and speculoos spread

Brioche Ă  tĂȘte and speculoos spread

No worries…I dropped by the supermarchĂ© after school to buy some. Also went to HurĂ© AND Beatrix to see if they had crepes so I could have it with my spread. Unfortunately not, so I settled for a brioche from Beatrix. 
Very tender crumb and caramelized exterior

Very tender crumb and caramelized exterior

This brioche Ă  tĂȘte was much better than the brioche I had the other day. This time, the tĂȘte was lopsided, which makes it even LOOK uncommercialized. There was no weird yellow colour in the bread. Even so, the brioche tasted very eggy and buttery. It was even better toasted.

Speculoos spread

Speculoos spread

This was weird! It looked like peanut butter. It tasted EXACTLY like speculoos. For those of you who don’t know, speculoos are a Dutch cinnamon biscuit which for some reason is quite popular here. I’ve bought speculoos from city super before and liked it. This spread is like the biscuit in paste form…really the taste is not similar – it’s the SAME. Honestly, I’d rather have the biscuit…for spreading, I’d prefer either something with a more pronounced flavour like nutella, or something more substantial like peanut butter.

My haul...the box is beautiful too!

My haul...the box is beautiful too!

Now on to my AOKI haul! Look at that box…it’s so pretty and curvy! It’s yelling “Open me, open me!” and I succumbed.

Cheese-cake citronné

Cheese-cake citronné

Tarte caramel salé

Tarte caramel salé

I got one light flavoured lemon cheesecake, contrasted by a stronger flavoured salted caramel tart.

Looks very clean and pretty...very Japanese!

Looks very clean and pretty...very Japanese!

Chocolate mousse, caramel with Guérande fleur de sel

Chocolate mousse, caramel with Guérande fleur de sel

I had the tart first. I’m quite surprised this was in Aoki’s repertoire, as I caramel + chocolate is such a non-Japanese combination. I’m glad I tried it though as it’s good and proves his versatility. I actually let it come to room temperature a bit before digging in, as I like my caramel runny. It didn’t exactly get to the runny stage, but it was kind of flowy and sticky. But first let’s talk about the beautiful concentric top layer, accented by dustings of cocoa powder. The mousse is  smooth chocolate with a tiny bit of bitter tones. The aftertaste was very clean. The caramel, though, is the highlight…it’s not too gooey. It’s clean tasting, with just a hint of saltiness. You know that feeling you get sometimes with caramel getting stuck in the back of your throat? None with this tart at all. It’s the best caramel I’ve had in my life. The tart base is really thin, as compared to Carl Marletti’s tart base – I prefer Marletti’s which is more flavourful.

CrÚme de fromage, zestes de citron, crÚme de citron and sablé noissette

CrÚme de fromage, zestes de citron, crÚme de citron and sablé noissette

Finally, I ended with the lemon cheesecake, which is a very Japanese combination. When it’s just out from the fridge, the texture is in between American cheesecake and Japanese cheesecake. Give it a few minutes, and it becomes the airy Asian cheesecake we’re used to in HK. However, this wasn’t over-gelatinized like many HK bakeries do. The base is a thin layer like the tart’s. The cake is studded with sablĂ©s noisettes and topped with a lemon gelĂ©e. It was very refreshing, very Asian tasting. I actually liked the sables the most, as it gave the cake a certain richness. I don’t know if any of you have tried making almond melting moments, a shortbread which melts in your mouth, but these sablĂ©s were sort of like that.

Why oh why are there no INCREDIBLE patisseries in Hong Kong???😩

2 Responses to “THE Sadaharu Aoki”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tour Eiffel…again…at night « Rachelle's Ramblings - April 20, 2011

    […] was saved by the yummy caramel pool in the bottom of the sphere. While not mind-blowing like Sadaharu Aoki’s caramel, this was satisfying. There were also hazelnuts hidden in the bottom. I actually ate these […]

  2. Second to Last Day Sigh « Rachelle's Ramblings - May 20, 2011

    […] was wonderfully spicy and buttery flavoured. The well was filled with a dollop of speculoos spread, like the one I bought to have with my brioche 2 weeks ago (has it been that long? sigh). I’m now imagining a chocolate speculoos […]

Leave a Reply

