Try my Brest

14 Apr

It was a long day at the hospital today, so I just bought something from my neighbourhood for tonight.

Paris Brest from Boulangerie Beatrix

Paris Brest from Boulangerie Beatrix

First up is my first Paris Brest in Paris! Previously only had ones from Paul Lafayet and Beard Papa (which aren’t real Paris Brests I know). The one from Paul Lafayet was very dense and filling and I couldn’t finish it. How about this one? The choux was super moist. I hate choux which is dry, as it gives me indigestion, but this choux was one I wanted to eat more of. Gotta try their choquettes sometime…The praliné cream on the other hand was mousse-y in texture. Unlike the Paul Lafayet one I’ve had which was like buttercream. I enjoyed this one a lot more as it was lighter and not as filling. Although lighter in texture, the taste was still strong and nutty!

Millefeuille from Pain de Sucre

Millefeuille from Pain de Sucre

Also dropped by Pain de Sucre from a Millefeuille. My first millefeuille in Paris too. It had a very crispy and light top layer, very well baked in flavour. A tad longer in the oven and it’d be burnt. This perfect timing meant that the feuille remained crisp and buttery. I like my feuille dryer, so this suited me. On the other hand, the custard has vanilla seeds strewn throughout, and was extremely thick and rich (bordering gloopy, but not yet!). One could cut down into the pastry and the pastry would stay intact.Very clean and pronounced flavours. Sets my millefeuille standards high!

Millefeuilles have layers too (Shrek reference for those who don't get it)

Millefeuilles have layers too (Shrek reference for those who don't get it)

Look at all those layers! Is it just me who enjoys eating layers one by one…?

4 Responses to “Try my Brest”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skiver « Rachelle's Ramblings - April 20, 2011

    […] and didn’t taste like fresh cream. The feuille base was normal, nothing spectacular like the PdS mille-feuille I had. Le Patisserie des Reves Grand […]

  2. Good Friday « Rachelle's Ramblings - April 22, 2011

    […] I mean, the combination of chocolate and hazelnuts is really hard to go wrong. Also, like their Paris Brest, the mousse is very light, while still satisfying due to its creaminess. Aligot…so […]

  3. Pilgrimage to Tony Wong’s Kingdom « Rachelle's Ramblings - May 28, 2011

    […] feel like the lush, generous crème pâtissière in Parisian mille-feuilles, like the one I had at Pain de Sucre. At least the berries were sweet. And there were real vanilla seeds in the custard, although the […]

  4. The Privilege of Going to College « Rachelle's Ramblings - June 2, 2011

    […] I did like how it was so big (well, normal sized rather than pinky sized) compared to most other patisseries’. I also like how, due to the lack of butter and heavy custard, it wasn’t too filling even after such a big piece. Don’t know when’s the next time I’ll be challenging myself with having another one though. Sad that I don’t have a go-to place for mille feuilles in Hong Kong…suggestions VERY welcome. Preferably something similar to this gorgeous piece from Pain de Sucre! […]

Leave a Reply

