Finally an Awesome Baguette

13 Apr

Today I stayed in the operating theatre, and there weren’t that many so I got off early again. Off to Rue Montorgueil for food hunting! I had already bought something special from Carl Marletti earlier for dessert.

Chain store...but good!

Chain store...but good!

Demi-baguette Monge

Demi-baguette Monge

Look at the crumb...yum yum

Look at the crumb...yum yum

First stop was Eric Kayser for a baguette as I had only tried their petit pains before. I got a demi-baguette Monge, their most famous baguette. I was lucky to get one still warm!! Obviously, I had to start eating it as soon as I got out. It was soooooooo good. The crust was crunchy rather than brittle, the innards were fluffy, chewy but not too chewy, and made even better by the fact that it was warm. I had to stop myself from finishing off the whole thing before I got home.

The best cheese shop...LONG LINES

The best cheese shop...LONG LINES

Next stop is probably the most popular cheese shop on Rue Montorgueil. Every time I pass by there’s a huge line. I got something to go with my baguette.

Munster Fermier

Munster Fermier

This is the pasteurized version of munster. I actually wanted the unpasteurized one, but they only sell it by quarters, and I didn’t want that much, so I settled for this. I’ve never had munster before. The rind is very sticky, which I’m told is a good sign that it’s ripe. The rind is thin, not like the thick rind of brie. HMm..2 words to describe this cheese: VERY stinky. My hand brushed against it and it remained stinky for a while even after washing my hands. The interior was soft, but not runny. The bottom had a 1 cm layer of extra-soft, extra-stinky cheese which was saltier with crunchy bits…salt? I really liked it and I actually ate the whole demi-baguette with this cheese. SO FULL I feel like I ate an elephant. Recurring theme in my blog? Nonetheless…on to dessert.

Carl Marletti, 51 rue Censier 75005 PARIS

Carl Marletti, 51 rue Censier 75005 PARIS

Carl Marletti is a patissier located on the 5th arrondissement. Its location is kinda off the path…near Rue Monge. The shopfront is low-key, and I actually had to look carefully to find it. Once inside though, you’ll realize that Carl Marletti is no ordinary patissier. Everything looked really innovative and awesome. I chose the Belle Helene. I actually also wanted to buy a macaron on to munch on the way back, but unfortunately they only sell it in boxes of 6 and up. When I sadly told him I couldn’t finish 6, the manager was very nice and gave me one to try for free. I had the blackcurrant-violette macaron, which tasted nothing like Ribena and was a lot fresher. I really need to go to Ladurée soon though…

Carl Marletti Belle Helene

Carl Marletti Belle Helene

Carl Marletti manages to present a simple tart in a beautiful way. The chocolate is hidden beneath a crumble of noisettes, and the whole tart is topped by a beautiful quenelle of vanilla mascarpone cream and a silver leaf. This is the most beautiful tart I’ve seen so far. The Pain de Sucre ones are really pretty too, but they’re not beautiful. Just pretty.

Pear and chocolate, noisettes, vanilla mascarpone cream

Pear and chocolate, noisettes, vanilla mascarpone cream

I loved the base of this tart!! It was very crunchy and buttery. It was also thicker than other tarts I’ve had…which some people may not like. I love tart crust though and this was a very flavourful crust. The quenelle was super creamy and had vanilla seeds. It was like a built-in a la mode for the pear tart. The pears were very sweet and soft, which was contrasted by crunchy almonds and a chocolate base. This is a FREAKING GOOD tart.

So satisfied today.🙂

One Response to “Finally an Awesome Baguette”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All the Big Names « Rachelle's Ramblings - April 21, 2011

    […] I did another patisserie march. First stop was Carl Marletti again. Remember last time I had an AWESOME Belle Helene? This time was pretty awesome too. Carl Marletti storefront Carl Marletti: inside the […]

Leave a Reply

